

For Immediate Release July 20, 2022

Media Contact
Thomas Mills (MGC) 617-979-8404

Press release: 22-031

The Massachusetts Gaming Commission Welcomes Jordan Maynard as Commissioner

The Massachusetts Gaming Commission today welcomed the appointment of Jordan Maynard as a commissioner effective August 1, 2022.

"On behalf of my fellow commissioners, I want to congratulate Jordan Maynard on his appointment and welcome him to the Massachusetts Gaming Commission," said **Chair Cathy Judd-Stein**. "Jordan is respected throughout state government and his talent and experience is a welcome addition to the MGC and our work regulating the Massachusetts gaming industry. Having Jordan join and round out our five-member commission is exciting, and I look forward to beginning to work alongside him in the days ahead."

Per statute, two commissioners are appointed by a majority vote of the Governor, Attorney General and Treasurer. Maynard will fill the *legal and policy issues related to gaming* seat through March 2026.

About Jordan Maynard

Jordan M. Maynard is an attorney who has served as Chief Secretary and Director of Boards and Commission for the Office of the Governor since February 2019. In this capacity, he has overseen appointments for over 800 state boards and commissions and recruited and placed senior officials across the administration. Under his tenure, the Baker-Polito Administration recruited a record number of diverse appointees to boards and commissions over a three year period. In this role, Maynard worked extensively on issues related to gaming policy, and oversaw multiple appointments to the Gaming Commission. He also worked closely with the Commission's leadership on appointments to the Gaming Policy Advisory Committee, including the Committee Chair and multiple appointments focused on public health and addiction issues.

During the COVID-19 pandemic, Maynard also served as the Washington, DC Director for the Office of the Governor from March-July 2020. In this capacity, he worked to coordinate state agencies' interactions with the federal government and supported the procurement of millions of pieces of PPE for the Commonwealth. Before serving in the Office of the Governor, Maynard worked as statewide director for MassVictory during the 2018 election and as the Deputy Director of the Baker-Polito 2019 Inaugural Committee. Prior to that, Maynard served the Commonwealth at the Division of Professional Licensure (today the Division of Occupational Licensure) as an external affairs manager, where he worked

closely with board and commission members on licensing and regulating over 580,000 individuals across 150 trades and professions.

Before entering state service, Maynard worked as a civil attorney, including as an advocate for individuals with disabilities before the Social Security Administration. Maynard is a first-generation college graduate from eastern Kentucky who earned his Bachelor of Arts in History and Government from Morehead State University in 2010 and his Juris Doctorate from the Northern Kentucky University's Salmon P. Chase College of Law in 2013. He lives in West Roxbury with his wife.

About the Massachusetts Gaming Commission

The Massachusetts Gaming Commission was created after "An Act Establishing Expanded Gaming in the Commonwealth" was signed into law on November 22, 2011. The Commission is a five-member independent body that is responsible for developing and managing the process to select, license, oversee, and regulate all expanded gaming facilities in the Commonwealth. The costs associated with operating the state's gaming commission is paid for by the gaming industry and not by Massachusetts tax dollars.

The Chair of the Commission is appointed by the Governor; one member is appointed by the Attorney General (whose appointee must have a background in criminal investigations and law enforcement); and one member is chosen by the State Treasurer (whose appointee must be proficient in corporate finance and securities). The remaining two commissioners are appointed by a majority vote of the same three constitutional officers.